The Glorious 4 Day Weekend

Note: This post is a few months old and never got published, and I figured since I wrote it I might as well still publish it:)

Well, it is finally Tuesday, and the last day of May, which means my wonderful weekend is now over 😦 😦 😦

There are many things that I am thankful for that occurred over the last four days:

Beautiful weather. Just. Beautiful

Rest and relaxation.

Spending (some) time with James – He still had to work from 2 pm – 2 am, but it was nice to have mornings and early afternoons together, and he did get Friday off!

Celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary.

Overall, the life and circumstances that I have been blessed with.

I could go on for days about how much James means to me, but in all honesty, you probably have someone who is just as compatible with you as he is with me! Therefore, you probably understand, and I won’t overindulge in the obvious…

In short, I’m just so grateful I was given a companion, and for our co-dependence on one another.

It is quite strange, I think. We don’t really have many friends, and the friends we do have are only ever around so often. Our families don’t live in WL, so we don’t see them very often either. We both don’t really like talking on the phone much, and we don’t keep up on social media as much as we could. It’s like we live in our own isolated bubble, but it’s such a nice happy bubble! I don’t really know how we developed into such an introverted unit, but it is a little nice to not have as much to focus on – not to mention, we get to spend 4 day weekends together just being us!

Occasionally, I have an inner conflict with this, as it kind of comes across selfish to me at times. I try to remember that your cup has to be filled before you can share with other people, and these times together definitely overflow our cups with joy. Plus, with his work schedule, we just have to do what we can:)

That was a tangent. Anyways, I’m wanting to write about my (our) 4 day weekend! We’ll just chalk up the last two paragraphs as a reflection on our relationship or something, since the topic was a big part of this past weekend. 1 year of marriage! 5 years of dating! Seems to be working out okay.

Now, onto the fun stuff:)

Friday morning we woke up early to go on a hike through Prophetstown State Park (yes, this is where we “bird”). It was a time that allowed us to be separate but together. The sun poked through the trees, the birds flew up among the canopy, and many little critters rustled about on the floor – all of this allowed for great introspective work, and it was fun to be in each other’s energy while we walked about. We also saw many pretty birds, such as cardinals, golden finches, yellowthroats, orchard and baltimore orioles, red headed woodpeckers, a kingfisher, and an adorable goose family. We then headed to our favorite little cafe`, Baker’s Peak, and enjoyed a little sandwich lunch. James helped me pick out a beautiful calla lily from Meijer, and we decided to call it our anniversary plant. We’ll see if I can get it to bloom again next year… In the afternoon, we took a long nap, and then enjoyed catching up with our friend Tom!

Saturday, we went to Murdoch Park and walked around after getting a few errands done. Somehow we got lost walking through the woods, but it was a nice detour nonetheless. James had to head to work then, and I spent the remainder of the afternoon basically just watching Netflix, which was a much appreciated break from working on some projects.

Sunday, we went to Slayter Hill to frisbee golf in the morning, and then went out for lunch at Town and Gown Bistro. It was a pretty delicious lunch, and the patio was so pretty with all of the plants and flowers!

Monday, we went to the place we met, Tarkington Hall, and took some anniversary pictures. It was so fun to goof around and enjoy many reminiscing conversations about our undergrad years. We did all of the 1st anniversary things such as eating our old wedding cake, exchanging paper gifts, and pulling out our vows and rereading them. Annnddd we also had some mimosas out of the glasses we toasted with at our wedding:) I walked with him back to work, and sadly said goodbye to him, as well as the fun anniversary festivities. But, I did get A TON done the rest of the day – laundry, dishes, dusting, new bedding, and I even got some homemade bread made.

Thank you God, thank you God, thank you God for all of the wonderful things you have given me, James being at the top of my list.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

