Do you know the muffin (wo)man?

I have been on a huge baking spree the past couple of weeks. I have found that if James has food made for him, he will take it with him to class and eat breakfast. It only took 5 years, but darn it, I’ve got it figured out now!

So, I gave him a list of muffins/scones/various other things and told him to pick the top ones. I ended up making millet muffins (like corn bread but with millet instead of corn), blueberry-lemon scones, double chocolate chip muffins, and lemon-almond poppyseed muffins. It was so fun to spend my Sunday afternoon in the kitchen watching Scrubs while I nearly trip on Rosie over and over again, who is patiently waiting for me to drop some butter or other scraps on the floor for her to eat (I’m very messy and clumsy).

I find baking incredibly relaxing. I have found that after a while, if you make mistakes you kind of know how to fix them (unless you measure out 1 cup of salt instead of 1 cup of sugar and add that in), so the whole process is pretty stress-free!

This week, I decided to branch out of this comfort zone a little by trying some new things. So, I made raspberry white chocolate scones and breakfast muffins. The scones ended up turning out okay despite the fact the raspberries basically just crumbled and turned to juice while i was trying to incorporate them into the dough, and they are definitely more of a dessert than a breakfast scone. The breakfast muffins, however, turned out even better than I could have expected! They are almost like breakfast cupcakes, except not as sweet and actually pretty healthy! They have carrots, cranberries, pecans, and applesauce in them, and were sweetened with mostly honey.

Naturally, I forgot to take any pictures of them, but will the next time I make them! For now, here are a few pictures of my most recent batch of lemon-almond poppyseed muffins and the instructions to make them (these are super easy by the way).

Lemon – Almond Poppyseed Muffins
Makes 1 dozen muffins
Preheat oven to 375 F

1 egg
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup yogurt, sour cream, cream cheese, etc.
1/2 cup light oil
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp. almond extract
1 tsp. lemon extract

1 1/3 cup flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. poppyseeds

Mix wet ingredients together in one bowl, and dry ingredients together in another. Combine the two bowls, and mix until batter is consistent and not very lumpy. Pour into muffin tins. Bake at 375 F for 10-14 minutes.

IMG_1875
This is what a double batch looks like before combining wet and dry ingredients.
IMG_1646
I would have gotten my tulips in the picture, but Rosie chewed them all off 😦
IMG_1645
These will last, oh, maybe a week:)
Leave a Reply

